# COLLEGE OF SAN MATEO ACADEMIC SENATE AGENDA

Tuesday, May 12, 2020, 2:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Location: Zoom Meeting, Meeting ID: 985 3096 6764

https://smccd.zoom.us/j/98530966764 or Call in using: 1-669-900-9128 US (San Jose)

All members of the campus community are welcome to attend ASGC meetings.

## I. Order of Business, 2:30 – 2:40

- 1) Approval of the Agenda
- 2) Public Comment (2 minutes per)

## II. Information Items, 2:40 – 3:00

- 1) President's Report
  - a) Announcements and updates
    - i) Introductions
    - ii) President search timeline
    - iii) IPC faculty rep at large
    - iv) District Equivalency Committee 2 faculty from different disciplines
- 2) ASCSM Update, ASCSM Rep

## 3) Standing Committee Reports

- a) Curriculum Committee, Teresa Morris, Chair
- b) Committee Teaching and Learning, Liz Schuler/Madeleine Murphy
- c) Distance Education Advisory Committee, Tabia Lee

## 4) Other Informational Updates

### III. Action Items 3:00-3:15

- a) Tenure Review Committee Appointment Approvals
  - a. Membership for 17 committees– See list below

### IV. Discussion Items, 3:15 – 4:30

- a) Welcome to New Members
  - i) Brown Act in the time of COVID
- b) AS Goals for 2020-21
- c) Read onto the record John Lewis OpEd

Next meeting: Sept 8, 2020 Location: Zoom, 2:30 p.m.

Future Discussion Topics (Needs updating)	2019-20 Senate Goals – For review:
CVC-OEI resolution of support (Aaron McVean, Nick	1. Enrollment and course cancellation: create
DeMello)	guidelines around class cancellations and enrollment
	minimums. 9/24 Workgroup established
District DE resolution	2. Ethnic Studies/social justice AA requirement
Strategic Planning (Aaron McVean)	3. Curricular alignment in district
College Budget Update (Micaela Ochoa, Fall 2020)	4. Adjunct Professional equity
Promoting equitable practices in the classroom (TBA)	5. Dual enrollment (Oct 22)
Dual Enrollment – AB288 clarification	6. Physical Spaces/environmental scan, ADA
(Tiffany/Kelsey)	compliance in physical and online classes
Enrollment Caps	7. Protocol for 51-50
Guided Pathways cluster activity (Allie -TBD)	8. Equity in hiring
Curricular alignment districtwide - resolution	
Faculty Participation	
Guided Pathways update (Allie – Sept 8, 20 min)	

#### Zoom ground rules:

Mute your microphone if you aren't talking.

Use the chat function for questions, comments, or to get our attention.

Please say your name before you speak.

Please write your name into the chat as you enter (it is our record of attendance).

\*TR Committees begun in FA17 have one fewer committee member\*

### Language Arts: 9 committees

### Sarah Mangin, English, 4th year

Dean: Kristi Ridgway Chair and Discipline expert: Daniel Keller Anne Stafford (4 year) Fermin Irigoyen (2 year) Roberta Reynolds (1 year)

## Rene Anderson, English, 4th year

Dean: Kristi Ridgway Chair and Discipline expert: Madeleine Murphy Jeramy Wallace (4 year) Soonyoung (Sue) An (2 year)

## Katherine Webster, English, 4th year

Dean: Kristi Ridgway Chair and Discipline expert: Tim Maxwell Teeka James (4 year) Jing Wu (2 year)

## Elinor Westfold, ESL, 4th year

Dean: Kristi Ridgway Chair and Discipline expert: Amy Sobel (sub for Emily Kurland, on sabbatical) Yaping Li (4 year) Colby Nixon (2 year)

## Evan Kaiser, ESL, 3rd year

Dean: Kristi Ridgway Discipline expert: Soonyoung (Sue) An Madeleine Murphy (4 year) (1-year sub for Amy Sobel due to workload) Steven Lehigh (2 year)

## Todd Windisch, ESL, 3rd year

Dean: Kristi Ridgway Chair and Discipline expert: Amy Sobel Tim Maxwell (sub for Emily Kurland, on sabbatical) David Laderman (2 year)

## David Lau, English, 3rd year

Dean: Kristi Ridgway Chair and Discipline expert: Mick Sherer Daniel Keller (4 year) Jing Wu (2 year)

## Keira Travis, English, 3rd year

Dean: Kristi Ridgway Chair and Discipline expert: Anne Stafford Sara Lawrence (4 year) Jon Kitamura (2 year)

### Briana Avila, Communication Studies, 2nd year

Dean: Kristi Ridgway Chair and Discipline expert: Fermin Irigoyen Yaping Li (4 year) Sara Lawrence (2 year)

#### Kinesiology/Athletics and Dance: 2 committees

### Hansen Sekona, Assistant Football Coach/Kinesiology 3rd year

Dean: Andreas Wolf Chair and Discipline expert: Bret Pollack Nicole Borg Tim Tulloch

### Mike Marcial, Men's Basketball Coach/Kinesiology 3rd year

Dean: Andreas Wolf Chair and Discipline expert: Michelle Warner Doug Williams Katie Goldhahn

#### **Creative Arts and Social Sciences: 2 committees**

#### Malathi Iyengar, Ethnic Studies 4th year

Dean: Laura Demsetz Discipline expert and chair: Frederick Gaines Rebecca Alex (4 Year) Michelle Mullane (2 Year; 2nd year) Michelle Brown (1 year, 1<sup>st</sup> year)

#### Adria Otte, Music (FT temporary position)

Dean: Laura Demsetz Discipline expert and chair: Jane Jackson Vera Fainshtein Rory Nakata

#### **Business: 3 committees**

#### Christy Baird, Fire Technologies 4th year

Dean: Heidi Diamond Discipline expert and chair: Mike Brunicardi Bruce Maule (4 Year) Rosemary Nurre (1 year)

#### Mounjed Moussalem, Computer Information Science 4th year

Dean: Heidi Diamond Discipline expert and chair: Melissa Green Bruce Maule (4 Year) Stephen Heath (1 Year) Kim Salido, Cosmetology 2nd year Dean: Heidi Diamond Discipline expert and chair: Andria Nalls Aurora Medrano (4 Year) Pete Von Bleichert (3 Year; 2nd year)

### ASLT – 1 committee

# Matthew Montgomery, Librarian 4th year

Administrator: Elnora Tayag Chair: Teresa Morris Discipline Expert: Stephanie Roach Chris Smith