COLLEGE OF SAN MATEO ACADEMIC SENATE AGENDA

Tuesday, Sept 8, 2020, 2:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Location: Zoom Meeting, Meeting ID: 985 3096 6764

https://smccd.zoom.us/j/98530966764 or Call in using: 1-669-900-9128 US (San Jose)

All members of the campus community are welcome to attend ASGC meetings.

I. Order of Business, 2:30 – 2:40

- 1) Approval of the Agenda
- 2) Approval of the Minutes (May 12 and Aug 25)
- 3) Public Comment (2 minutes per)

II. Information Items, 2:40 – 3:00

- 1) President's Report
 - a) Announcements and updates
- 2) ASCSM Update, , ASCSM Rep
- 3) Standing Committee Reports
 - a) Curriculum Committee, Teresa Morris, Chair
 - b) Committee Teaching and Learning, Liz Schuler/Madeleine Murphy
 - c) Distance Education Advisory Committee, Tabia Lee
- 4) Other Informational Updates

III. Action Items 3:00-3:15

- a) Tenure Review Committee Appointment Approvals
 - a. Membership for committees- See list below
- b) Change to Curriculum Committee Membership to update in AS bylaws

IV. Discussion Items, 3:15 – 4:30

- a) AS Goals for 2020-21 Arielle Smith (20 min)
- b) Guided Pathways Allie Fasth (15-20 min)
- c) Spring modality Hard to convert courses Tim Tulloch (15 min)
- d) Cabinet Update (4:10pm)

Next meeting: Sept 22, 2020 Location: Zoom, 2:30 p.m.

2019-20 Senate Goals – For review:
1. Enrollment and course cancellation: create
guidelines around class cancellations and enrollment
minimums. 9/24 Workgroup established
2. Ethnic Studies/social justice AA requirement
3. Curricular alignment in district
4. Adjunct Professional equity
5. Dual enrollment (Oct 22)
6. Physical Spaces/environmental scan, ADA
compliance in physical and online classes
7. Protocol for 51-50
8. Equity in hiring

Guided Pathways update (Allie – Sept 8, 20 min)

Zoom ground rules:

Mute your microphone if you aren't talking.

Use the chat function for questions, comments, or to get our attention.

Please say your name before you speak.

Please write your name into the chat as you enter (it is our record of attendance).

Math/Science - 8 committees

Melinda Nguyen, Nursing 3rd year

Dean: Charlene Frontiera

Chair and Discipline Expert: Janis Wisherop

Beth LaRochelle Leann Kennedy

Jose Gutierrez, Engineering 4th year

Dean: Charlene Frontiera

Chair and Discipline Expert: Kathy Diamond

Alex Wong Tania Beliz

Mohsen Janatpour

Elisha Polomski, Astronomy 3rd year

Dean: Charlene Frontiera

Chair and Discipline Expert: Darryl Stanford

Mohsen Janatpour

Alex Wong

John Dao, Chemistry 3rd year

Dean: Charlene Frontiera

Chair and Discipline Expert: Catherine Ciesla

David Locke Linda Hand

Kazumi Tsuchiyose, Math 3rd year

Dean: Charlene Frontiera

Chair and Discipline Expert: Jay Lehman

Mel Hom Alyssa Wong

Angel Pilar, Math 2nd year

Dean: Charlene Frontiera

Chair and Discipline Expert: Jay Lehman

Gary Church Harry Nishanian

Joshua Rhodes, Math 2nd year

Dean: Charlene Frontiera

Chair and Discipline Expert: Harry Nishanian

Chris Walker Bob Hasson

Michelle Beatty, Math 2nd year

Dean: Charlene Frontiera

Chair and Discipline Expert: Gary Church

Lena Feinman Jay Lehman

Counseling: 5 committees

Maggie Barrientos, Child Development Center Coordinator 4th year

Dean (permanent): Krystal Duncan Chair and Discipline expert: Tina Watts

Patty Hall (4 year)

Jesenia Diaz (2 year, rotate 20-21)

Lydia Chen, Counseling 3rd year

Dean (permanent): Krystal Duncan

Chair and Discipline expert: Judy Larivierre

Arnett Caviel (4 year) Michael Vargas (2 year)

Jennifer De La Cruz, Counseling 3rd year – 19-20

Dean (permanent): Krystal Duncan

Chair and Discipline expert: Arnett Caviel

Kevin Sinarle (4 year)

Roxana Rugliancich (2 year)

Patrice Reed-Fort, Counseling 3rd year

Dean (permanent): Krystal Duncan

Chair and Discipline expert: Roxana Rugliancich

Trang Luong (4 year)

Arnett Caviel (2 year, rotate 20-21)

Alex Guiriba, Counseling 2nd year

Dean (permanent): Krystal Duncan

Chair and Discipline expert: Martin Bednarek

Judy Lariviere (4 year) Mary Valenti (2 year)